Winners announced for annual boat parade (PHOTOS, VIDEO)

The docks were packed with people trying to find the best spot on the harbor to enjoy the 31st Annual Holiday on the Harbor Destin Boat Parade.

A variety of boat types, from charter boats to pontoon boats, used their Christmas spirit to decorate and display holiday cheer for the crowd and judges. 

Parade officials said that 29 boats registered for the event as they made a loop in the harbor before settling in the East Pass for a fireworks show.

Mayor Scott Fischer was the Master of Ceremonies for the event. Margaritaville and Justin Cavender hosted the parade judges and museum guests.

Judges for the event were Lance Johnson, City Parks Recreation Director, Shane Moody, Destin Chamber President CEO and Sherry Rushing, recently retired TDC Travel Industry Sales Director.  

Winners in each category were:

 • Private 30 ft. Under: GETTING NAUTI Captained by Dave Szklarski

• Private 31 ft. Over: O SEA D Captained by Jim English

• Charter/Commercial 30 Ft. Under: PEDAL PUB 1 Captained by Sheila Graham

• Charter/Commercial 31 ft. Over: DESTINY Captained by Dennis Kendrick

• Tour Boat/Motorized 50 ft. Under: EMERALD GRANDE SHUTTLE II Captained by

• Tour Boat/Motorized 51 ft. Over: SUNNY LADY Captained by Alex Kent

• Sailboat 30 ft. Under: AVALON Captained by David Hall

• Sailboat 31 ft. Over: NO ENTRY FOR THIS CATEGORY

• Overall Best Entry: SOUTHERN STAR, Captained by Jason McGregor

• City of Destin Harbor Heritage Award: SWOOP II Captained by Nick Price


Similar news:
You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.
Leave a Reply

XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>