KUALA LUMPUR, Feb 3 (Bernama) — Pulau Langkawi, Kedah is all set to host the

15th Asian Sailing Championships, which gets underway on 17 to 25 February 2012.

A total of 279 sailors from 24 nations in Asia will battle for the 14 classes in

the Asian Championship titles. Among countries with the biggest contingents of

sailors include hosts Malaysia (44), Singapore (44), Hong Kong (35), India (27)

and China (18).

Jointly organized by the Malaysia Yachting Association (MYA) and Asian Sailing

Federation at the National Sailing Centre, the Asian Sailing Championships will

match hot favorites alongside relative newcomers to the class. To be eligible to

compete, all sailors must be members of their National Federation.

The Optimist class without fail attracts the largest number of participants,

with 45 participants vying for XX medals. Among hot favorites in the Optimist

class are current Optimist world Champion, 15 year old Kimberly Lim of

Singapore. However, Natasya Nabila, top Malaysian sailor in the Optimist class

will definitely not make it easy for Kimberly.

Another hotly contested class will be the Laser Radial, with World Champion,

Karati Bulong of Thailand facing Malaysian favorite Khairulnizam Mohd Afendy. It

is expected to be an easy win for Khairulnizam based on their past meet

statistics of 5 wins to 1 for Khairulnizam.

In addition to the usual Optimist, Laser and International 420 and 470 classes,

match racing will also be contested in this edition of the Asian Sailing

Championship. Match racing has taken off in Malaysia since the introduction of

the annual Monsoon Cup in Terengganu in 2005. The Malaysian Match Racing

Championship, which saw local participation increase from 4 teams in 2006 to 13

teams in 2009 is a clear indication of the progression of local sailors from the

Olympic classes to match racing in keel boats.

A qualifying event will take place on 6-8 February 2011 to determine the team

that will represent Malaysia in the Asian Sailing Championship. Current

Malaysian Match Racing Champion Jeremy Koo (Koo Racing Team) will be facing

stiff competition from archrival Hazwan Hazim Dermawan (Team Permai). Mohd Romzi

Muhammad (MYA/KFC) who definitely made his presence felt at the past MMRC in

Terengganu last year will be making a comeback and is hungry for that elusive

victory. The Malaysian Armed Forces, Royal Selangor Yacht club and Kedah Sailing

Association make up the rest of the teams vying for a chance to represent


President of the Asian Sailing Federation, Tuan Haji Kamaruzzaman Abu Kassim,

who is also the President of the Malaysian Yachting Association said “Its an

honour to hosts the 15th Asian Sailing Championship in Langkawi. MYA had also

organized and hosted the IODA World Sailing Championship last year. 230

participants from 53 countries participated in a hugely successful event. We are

confident of pulling off yet another winner”



Name : Mira Navaretna

Tel : +603 7954 2204 (o)

Mobile: +6016 338 5341 (m)

Email :

Name : Rahyu Waris

Tel : +603 7954 2204

Mobile: +6012 3544 945

Email :


Similar news:
You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.
Leave a Reply

XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>